Our Story

Formed in 2017 by AB 97 (Ting, 2017), an act of the State Legislature, the North Orange County Public Safety Task Force was initially comprised of six cities, and has since been expanded to include ten cities:  Anaheim, Brea, Buena Park, Cypress, Fullerton, La Habra, La Palma, Placentia, Stanton, and Yorba Linda.

The Task Force was established for a four year period of time, until June 30, 2021. The Task Force is required to spend their state funds in accordance with the language in AB 97 (Ting, 2017). Funding must be used for the following purposes:

  1. Programs to address youth violence prevention and intervention in K-12 schools
  2. Programs to promote and enhance the successful reentry of offenders into the community
  3. Programs to address homeless outreach and intervention efforts

Funding for the Task Force is provided by AB 97 (Ting, 2017). The Board of State and Community Corrections will allocate $20,000,000 over a four year period. The funding shall be divided among the cities as well as community based organizations. AB 97 (Ting, 2017) mandates that at least 60 percent of the funding shall go to community based organizations to assist with violence prevention, intervention, and suppression activities.

Annual Reports

2020 Annual Report to the Legislature 

Next Steps...

If you are a community based organization serving one of the ten cities in the North Orange County Public Safety Task Force, you can apply for the upcoming funding period.